An acid jazz project with surprisingly deep roots in the 1970s jazz/funk/fusion world, Incognito was originally formed by Jean-Paul Maunick (aka Bluey) and Paul "Tubbs" Williams. Both were leaders of the late-'70s disco-funk group Light of the World, who scored several moderate British hits, including a cover of "I Shot the Sheriff." Just after the release of Light of the World's third LP (Check Us Out), Maunick and Williams shifted the lineup slightly and renamed the conglomeration Incognito.

Incognito debuted with the single "Parisienne Girl" and released the 1981 LP Jazz Funk, but was inactive during the rest of the 1980s. Maunick continued to write material for his group, even while working with Maxi Priest and others. (Williams later moved to Finland.) By the beginning of the 1990s, DJ legend and early Incognito fan Gilles Peterson had founded the Talkin' Loud label and he made Incognito one of his first signings. The 1991 single "Always There" (with vocals by Jocelyn Brown) became a Top Ten hit as part of Britain's booming acid jazz scene, prompting the release of Incognito's second album overall, Inside Life. It was largely a studio affair, with Maunick and engineer Simon Cotsworth directing a large cast with many of the best musicians in Britain's fertile groove community.

With 1992's Tribes Vibes + Scribes, Maunick added a more established vocalist, the American Maysa Leak. A cover of Stevie Wonder's "Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing" became another Incognito hit, and the album ascended Britain's pop charts even as it rose on America's contemporary jazz charts. The third album, Positivity, became the group's biggest album success, with much attention across Europe as well as Britain. Leak unsuccessfully attempted a solo career with Blue Note, leading to the temporary vocal replacement Pamela Anderson (not the Baywatch pinup) on 1995's 100° and Rising. Leak returned, though, appearing on the following year's Beneath the Surface.

Incognito later expanded its discography with 1996's Remixed, 1998's Tokyo Live, and 1999's No Time Like the Future. The group's next two albums were again made without Leak, 2001's Life Stranger Than Fiction and 2003's Who Needs Love, which featured Brazilian vocalist Ed Motta. Leak returned for 2004's Adventures in Black Sunshine. Bees + Flowers + Things appeared at the end of 2006. The album was a mix of cover versions along with re-recordings of four Incognito classics. John Bush, All Music Guide


Jazz Funk Jazz Funk 1981 EMI Music Distribution
Inside Life Inside Life 1991 Verve Forecast
Tribes Vibes + Scribes Tribes Vibes + Scribes 1992 Talkin Loud
Positivity Positivity 1994 Talkin Loud
100° and Rising 100° and Rising 1995 Verve
Beneath the Surface Beneath the Surface 1996 Talkin' Loud/Verve Forecast
Remixed Remixed 1996 Talkin Loud
Last Night in Tokyo, Live 1996 Last Night in Tokyo, Live 1996 1998 Talkin Loud
No Time Like the Future No Time Like the Future 1999 Talkin Loud
Future Remixed 2000 Universal/Talkin Loud
Life Stranger Than Fiction Life Stranger Than Fiction 2001 Talkin Loud
One Nation One Nation 2003 Pony Canyon Records (Japan)
Who Needs Love Who Needs Love 2003 Boutique Records
Adventures in Black Sunshine Adventures in Black Sunshine 2004 EMI Music Distribution
25th Chapter 2005 Dome Records
Bees + Flowers + Things Bees + Flowers + Things 2006 Dome Records
Eleven Eleven 2006 Dome Records
More Tales Remixed More Tales Remixed 2008 Heads Up Records
Tales from the Beach Tales from the Beach 2008 Heads Up Records

Incognito Tour Dates

Incognito Tour Dates

28/12/2009 Japan Tokyo
29/12/2009 Japan Tokyo
30/12/2009 Japan Tokyo
31/12/2009 Japan Tokyo
02/01/2010 Japan Tokyo
03/01/2010 Japan Tokyo
04/01/2010 Japan Tokyo
05/01/2010 Japan Tokyo
06/01/2010 Japan Yokohama
07/01/2010 Japan Nagoya
21/01/2010 Italy Rome
22/01/2010 Italy Cesena
23/01/2010 Italy Padova
25/01/2010 Italy Catania
27/01/2010 Italy Milan
28/01/2010 Italy Milan
29/01/2010 Italy Milan
30/01/2010 Italy Milan

Your rating: None


Powered by Qsa Entertainment